“Zaritap-Gomk-Martiros” ecotourism trail is known by the rich historical-cultural heritage.
The cross-stone chapel was built by famous architecture Momik’s two students Mkhitar and Shnorh in 1263. This structure is unique due to the combination of the cross stone and chapel. Cross-stone chapel is one the best-preserved among such structures. On the right wall of cross-stone chapel a solar clock is placed.
12-15-century rock-carved cross-stones are very unique monuments, which according to the tradition were built in the caves, so that enemies could not destroy them. Gevorg Devrikyan and Galust Khachatryan numerated approximately 84 cross-stones in this area.
“Saint Astvatsatsin” church
The church was built in 1866 in the place of old one. During the construction the fragments and cross stones of old church were used. On the entrance door of the church a sentence is carved: “Jesus Christ’s St. Testimonies Second Jerusalem” Also on southern part a solar clock is preserved. The church was reconstructed in 1980-1990.
“Saint Astvatsatsin” rock-carved church complex
One of the most prominent architectural buildings of Martiros village is 13th century, rock-carved church complex “St. Astvatsatsin” (Martirosats monastery, 1286) and 8th century cross-stones. The rock-carved monastery is located on the lower part of Nazar mountain. The monastery was entirely created inside of Nazar mountain. According to the records, the monastery was built by Master Martiros in 1286, by architecture Grigorik. This is the second and most prominent rock-carved architectural complex after the church Geghard and is one the most specific church due to it’s internal resonance and constructive high art.